The coat of arms The flag
    coat flag

    The foundation – On December 8th of 1991, the agreement for creating the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) was signed by leaders of Belorussia, Russia and Ukraine. On December 21st of 1991, an additional protocol was signed in Alma-Ata, in which Armenia, Russia, Belorussia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, formed the commonwealth of independent states. On the 22nd of January of 1993, the CIS member countries with the exception of Ukraine, adopted the CIS constitution.


    Main objectives of the partnership are:

    Implementations of mutual cooperation projects in the shpere of politics, environment protection, humanitarian, cultural etc. 

    • General  economic comprehensive and balanced development, interstate collaboration and integration of member countries,
    • Providing the freedom and human rights according to the international norms and principles of the OSCE documents,
    • The implementation of budget cuts for disarmament and military expenses between member countries for ensuring their security, the elimination of nuclear and mass destruction weapons, as well as achieving universal and complete disarmament,
    • To support the CIS member country citizens free movement and free communication,
    • Mutual legal support and other platforms of collaborations,
    • Peaceful conflict resolution between the CIS member countries.


    CIS structural bodies are:

    • The council of country leaders,
    • The council of head of governments,  
    • The minister council of the ministry of Foreign affairs,  
    • The economic council,
    • The council of the ministry of defense,
    • The council of border troops commanders,
    • Inter parliamentary assembly,
    • The economic court.

    During the period of the council of the leaders of courtiers, the council heads of governments, the council of the ministry of foreign affairs, the CIS permanent functioning body is considered the CIS member country permanent authorized council of representatives. The executive permanent collaboration administrative and coordinating body is the CIS Executive committee, with its headquarter in Minsk and branch in Moscow.

    In March of 1994, the general assembly of the UN granted the CIS with the status of observer.  The same status was also granted to the Collaboration as well as UN trade and development conference (April 19, 1994).

    82 bodies were created within the framework of CIS, along with 66 bodies of branch collaboration, which will support the collaboration development within the CIS.



    The republic of Armenia is considered a CIS member country and an active participant of collaboration different projects within the CIS. It is connected with interests of the state in economic, humanitarian, political, strategic and in other spheres.  RA is participating in all of the CIS institutional activities, except the CIS economic court.


    CIS Development trends

    On October 5th of 2007, the CIS assembly adopted the further partnership of development concept and its action plan for realizing the project.

    On November 20th of 2009,  CIS Council of Heads of Governments  in Yalta approved the CIS  member states long-term main directions of cooperation as well as the decision was made on CIS member countries joint events for overcoming the negative effects of the global financial crisis.

    From December 9-10th of 2010, the sessions of CIS foreign ministers and state governors’ council took place in Moscow.  

    During the CIS Foreign Ministers Council meeting 18 draft documents were discussed on interstate further cooperation in the sphere of economy, as well as humanitarian and security ensuring spheres. 

    On December 10th of 2010, idea exchange on general subjects as well as on raising CIS contemporary issues were discussed during the CIS country leaders meeting.  During the session, more than 20 document drafts were discussed and adopted, which are aimed for partnership development in the sphere of humanitarian, security ensuring and other directions of partnership.