Formation – The contract on collective security was signed on March 15, 1992. According to the contract, member countries are to combine their efforts to confront and in case of the necessity to eliminate the military threats to their sovereignty and territorial integrity.

    The contract signed in 2002 was transformed into the collective security treaty organization, which claims for the combination of foreign policy, military armament collaboration and confronting modern threats and challenges.


    Member countries - Armenia, Belarus, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan.

    Structure – CSTO body is the council of the collective security, (country leaders format), CSTO council of ministers of foreign affairs, CSTO council of ministers of defense, CSTO member country security council committee of secretaries.

    For the security of the organization collective power and means, for providing security for the member countries, corresponding military trainings are carried out on regular basis.

    During the February 4, 2009 collective security council special session a decision was made on creating collective power within the framework of the organization, aiming for preventing military aggression towards the member countries, fighting against international terrorism and organized criminal actions as well as elimination of consequences caused by natural and technogenic emergency conditions.     






    Formation – The treaty on establishing the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC) was signed on October 10, 2000 in Astana.

    Member countries – Belarus, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan. Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine are the observer countries.  

    Structure - EurAsEC running bodies are the Interstate council, Integration committee, Inter parliamentary assembly and the Association court.



    The main objectives are:

    • completing the formalization of a free trade regime in all respects, creating a unified customs tariff and a unified system of non-tariff regulation measures,
    • laying down the common rules for trade in goods and services and their access to external markets,
    • introducing a unified procedure for foreign exchange controls,
    • creating a common unified system of customs regulation,
    • drawing up and implementing joint programs of economic and social development,
    • creating equal conditions for production and entrepreneurial activities,
    • forming a common market for transportation services and a unified transport system,
    • forming a common energy services market,
    • creating equal conditions for access by foreign investment to the sides' markets,
    • giving the citizens of the EurAsEC member countries equal rights in receiving education and medical assistance throughout its territory,
    • converging and harmonizing national legislation,
    • ensuring the coordination of the legal systems of the EurAsEC states with a view to creating a common legal space within the Community.